Fresh Paint Friday :: Ice Flow

A NEW CREATIVE PRACTICE

Welcome to FRESH PAINT FRIDAY where I’m going to feature what’s on my palette, easel or gelli plate each week. From colour mixing to new materials to finished pieces, I’m going to share my painting process and creations every Friday. Last December I started a photography project called Mindful Mondays and it has been great to keep me motivated and creating, even when I’m short on time. Inspiration is only one part of art making – a commitment to dedicated practice is equally important. FRESH PAINT FRIDAY is a sticky note to myself to show up to the studio and PAINT!

Freshpaintfridayiceflows

This week I returned from a lovely time away in Victoria and Mayne Island. I came home with several projects in mind but when I went into my studio I felt stuck. So I grabbed an old/abandoned gelli print from my scrap pile – much less daunting than blank canvas! I had been playing with my new Liquitex Acrylic Inks and had a piece of paper with rich, black marks on them. This work began with one of those torn pieces being collaged onto the gelli print to create a horizon. As I worked, layering acrylic inks and fluid acrylics and drawing with my new Stabilo pencil, that little scrap that I started with became ice flowing into the sea. As the acrylics flowed and I worked intuitively, I found my own flow and overcame that stuck feeling.

What do you do to get un-stuck?

Leave a Reply

