Mountain Trails Painting for Kiyoko

comox valley lake glacier forest

I created this tiny piece (4 x 6″) for my friend Kiyoko who is a runner, mountain biker and adventurer. She is inspirational to me in the way she sets goals and challenges for herself and just as importantly for her wonderful enthusiasm. I felt the sunny yellow in this artwork reflects her nature. When she unwrapped it she said she liked the  glacier in the upper part of the work. This is why I love abstracted works – I hadn’t even been thinking of our local Comox glacier when painting but there it is!

I’m still absolutely in love with my Gelli Plate! No more blank canvas/paper stalemate. I love the unexpected nature of printmaking – the mixing of colours and the wonderful textures. I’s a great way to get started in the studio. I began with acrylic gelli printing and then layered in pencil, ink, watercolour and more acrylics.

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Mountain Trails Painting for Debbie | Nicole Warrington Studio

Leave a Reply

