Spring Growth: a mixed media drawing

Spring Growth

Despite rainstorms and some gloomy weather, I’ve been feeling the promise of Spring! Lately I’ve been using my Gelli Plate to create these small works on paper. I start by layering acrylics using a monotype process. Then I work with watercolours, graphite, pencil crayons, white Sharpie and a permanent marker to develop texture and details. Map and marine chart symbols having been figuring prominently in my work again. I think that this is symbolizing my journey into motherhood and my drive to reconnect with both an inner and outer landscape.

Leave a Reply

