Water: painting for a summer exhibition

This July I will be exhibiting with the West Coast Artist Collective in an exhibition about Water at Art Alchemy Studio/Gallery in Courtenay, BC. I will be doing several larger paintings but have started with these little panels that will be displayed in a group array (each artist is producing four to add to the overall piece.)

In starting these, my goal was to paint intuitively and best capitalize on the qualities that wood panels offer. I love how I can draw, print, scrub, scrape and sand works on wood. I was printing with bubble wrap, using sandpaper, finger painting, glazing, spraying with water and using a dollar store spatula [see video below].  I was also playing with Golden Fluid Acrylics – why have I been painting for years and not been using these??? They are wonderful! I’m looking forward to seeing how these little pieces will develop.

Fluid Acrylic from Nicole Warrington on Vimeo.

Water paintings in progress

Fluid acrylic with alternative brush

Leave a Reply

