Sketching mixed media landscapes

FieldskymixedmediaIn an effort to make art more of a daily practice, I’ve been continuing to explore compositions and sketching on 2″ square scraps of paper. They are a lot less daunting than blank canvases. I also like how they are little objects. This one was created with watercolor paint, caran d’ache crayons and graphite. I’m happy with the ruddy, windswept sky and the intense blue. The marks in the foreground remind me of the old pilings in the Comox estuary that emerge like ghosts at low tide.

I made a trip to Victoria, BC this past weekend where I purchased a Strathmore Mixed Media sketchbook (hopefully the paper will wrinkle less than my current drawing book), more canvases/wood panels, and Golden Liquid Acrylics (which I’ve never used before)……so I’m excited to play more in the studio! Missing drawing, I’m hoping to incorporate more graphite elements back into my paintings too.

When I returned from Victoria I was excited to find out that a book I had ordered from the library had arrived. New inspiration! I’m pleased to be delving into Desire to Inspire: Using Creative Passion to Transform the World by Christine Mason Miller. I’m only a few chapters in but enjoying the insights, exercises and encouragement to value and prioritize my art practice.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

