2013 Begins in the Studio

After a sleep in and coffee in bed, I started off 2013 in my studio. Met with a grey, flat-light kind of day, I turned on all the lights in my studio, cranked some music on my Sonos (I’m so in love with it!) and got started on a canvas that I had prepped in December. I really wanted to contrast the day and celebrate the New Year by painting with brighter, bolder colours than the seas of blue I often use.

WCMini6

I loosely took inspiration from one of the sketches I did back in November (top right). I was so fond of these little sketches that I was intimidated by the task of capturing a little of their magic in a different media and scale. The sketches were only 2″ squares and this painting on canvas is 8″ square. I’m quite pleased with the results! My first painting of 2013:

NewYearsDay2013painting

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: In the Studio~2012 in Review « Joni Beach

Leave a Reply

