Miniature Landscape Explorations

After watching Remembrance Day Ceremonies on this rainy day, I made myself a cup of tea and settled into the studio. I wanted to work on canvas but even though I had a few prepped and ready to go, I felt stumped about starting. So I dug around my scrap paper cupboard and found a very old piece of printmaking paper with a photocopy transfer on it (all the grey marks in the painting are from the transfer image). I started playing with watercolours and caran d’ache water soluble crayons and created this 4 x 6″ landscape:

Then I found some teeny-tiny scraps of a watercolour painting I cut up a year ago. These scraps, with various degrees of watercolour marks on them, turned out to be perfect for my blank canvas creative block. I felt very free and had a great time creating these six  2″ landscape explorations using watercolour, caran d’ache crayons, and graphite:

My studio and materials today:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

