Acrylic techniques exploration

Paradise Meadows, 8 x 8"

I’ve been pushing myself to try new colours and techniques in my painting. Right now I’m exploring the use of mediums and collaged paper to create textured grounds. Many moons ago during my art school days I often used Cadmium Red Light as a base for my landscape paintings. Little flecks of the underpainting would show through the blue sky or ocean. Now I’m exploring warm bases (see image below) of Azo Red Middle, Hansa Yellow and Rose Red (all by Stevenson).  New favourite cool colours include Cadmium Green (Stevenson) and Primary Cyan high viscosity (Tri-Art). This painting was inspired by a recent hike in beautiful Paradise Meadows, Strathcona Park. Soon I’ll be exploring the park in my snowshoes!

Paradise Meadows underpainting

Leave a Reply

