Liberation courtesy of gesso

This poor canvas had been put in different places in my studio, packed, moved from Vancouver to Vancouver Island, unpacked, put on display to patiently wait for my attention and inspiration, and finally tackled with some fresh paint only to be placed back in a box again. My attachment was to both the beauty of the place, Whidbey Island, and the beauty of my photo that I was working from. There are times when a painting simply isn’t working. I decided to keep the photo and let go of the painting. Yesterday this canvas, with the help of some Stevenson modelling paste and gesso, was liberated from my analysis and stress over not finishing it. A fresh ground and it is ready to see meet new inspiration.

If I can paint over one composition, why not a second? Below is a new landscape in mixed media featuring modelling paste, acrylics, and graphite. Now I’m off to hunt in the garage for other things to paint over!

Leave a Reply

