My Watercolour Window

This house that we are renting has a beautiful bay window in the bedroom that we use as an office/studio. I’ve set up a small table facing this window and the yard; I sit and watch the mountains, clouds, leaves, snow and birds.

Though watercolour painting is not something I was trained in, I do enjoy its quick and non-messy accessibility. I always keep watercolour cards and a block pad of paper in my studio drawers. This painting below is one that I  did for a friend’s birthday. Somebody at the party asked if it was Tree Island with Mt. Washington in the background. Then someone else noted that those two places could only fit in a frame if the artist was using a mirror….and possibly painting from a kayak or boat? So there I was; busted for inventing landscapes. I may take inspiration from a particular place or a skyline, but most often I invent and rearrange landscapes.

Leave a Reply

